The Withering - Book 1

Instinct and choice define a person, or at least Harrison Stone believes so, which is why he chose to become a warden.

Despite his impressive efforts, however, it was always going to be his twin sister, Siljanna, receiving the admiration of their commander and father, Sampson Stone.

Living in her shadow had its advantages, until a tragic event and devastating fire changed his life unimaginably.

Forced to choose between Siljanna and one of his dearest friends, a recently exposed mage, Harrison follows his instincts and the consequences of that choice steer his life in ways he never envisaged.

Available from: Austin Macauley, Amazon, WHSmith, Barnes & Noble and most major retailers.
Publishing Forms: Paperback and E-Book.
Release date: August 2023.

The Withering - Book 1 Cover

About the author

The Encia Trilogy’ is the first dystopian fantasy book series written by author, Nicki Harrison. Developing the imagination one might expect of a fantasy writer, Nicki has always loved creating stories. From Guernsey in the Channel Islands, she studied media and film but writing was only ever a hobby (until now). She found her ideal career in the travel industry and now runs her own business as a Travel Counsellor (writing novels on the side). Her travels and experiences strengthened her love for creating immersive characters and unique worlds - hoping to take readers on the only type of journey she cannot create in her day job. Supported by husband Shaun, family and friends (and of course the dogs), Nicki hopes that her writing will provide a fresh escapism for every fantasy lover.

Love these stories? Find out if there is an event coming near you here